Filling Squares

I’m watching those little squares on my calendar fill and I feel tension of this event-crazed society. They’re wonderful things – things I love and am so thankful for. A friend’s wedding, a couple conferences for work, moving. Missionary support meetings. High school kids. Prayer nights. More moving…

24.media.tumblr.com

24.media.tumblr.com

bloglovin.com

bloglovin.com

I know myself well enough to know that if I’m not careful, I’ll slowly and helplessly fall apart on a schedule like this… unless I am very intentional. Over time, I find that I need to make room for quiet nights alone, listening to soft music, reading, watching a movie or painting. I need space for that in my life. It gives me time to think and pray about the world swirling around me. And if I don’t take it, I fade.

Fading isn’t abundance, and I’m thinking of that often too, when I’m faced with bowing out of an event or weekend, knowing myself, and hating the need for quietness all at once. If Christ has come to offer the ‘abundant life’ then I need to find the balance to allow that to happen fully.  (“The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.” – John 10.10)  And so I think this post is as much a daily careful analysis for myself as anything.

Kinfolk.com

Kinfolk.com

I’ve often said life is as busy as I want it to be. So one day at a time, knowing my own limitations and tendencies, I’m trying to keep my eyes focused on Jesus in the middle of those scribble-ridden squares – for it is He who has changed my life for a purpose and given the Commission.

stepbystep

2 thoughts on “Filling Squares

  1. Gede Prama

    thank you, the article and the true happiness rays began to warm hearts, when we share it with sincerity. Greetings from Gede Prama :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

