Flower Pots & Thankful Spaces

I’m in a new space, filling it, still painting and putting doors back together and putting things in their place.

I get excited for a space that is nurturing, refreshing – a place for people to gather and feel alive and at home. I look forward to many late night conversations in that living room with good wine or tea. I imagine lots of creativity in that little kitchen, and rearranging or painting something often. And I am thankful.

IMG_2086

Thankful for the space that God’s provided. Thankful for the chance to do this, the opportunity to take leaps like this, the chance to live and have a sustainable life. I know there are many in the world who don’t have this luxury.

I’ve been thinking this week of a picture one of our missionaries shared a while back from the streets of Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. A mother and her small family were living on the street – they had nowhere else to go. They had a blue tarp strung up along the sidewalk to block the rain… and she’d put three pots with little flowers out around them.

It was simple. Heartbreaking. And beautiful. This momma was making her space pretty too, filling what she had and being thankful for details.

Details

I thought in great admiration of that momma and as I put up my flower pots.

IMG_2088

925 sq feet is a lot in the scheme of things. That valiant woman on the street in Addis worked with far less. I wonder, is she still there, under that tarp? Has she added more flowers? Perhaps she’s come through the LSM Counseling Center and is much better off now?

I keep this in the living room as my simple, clear reminder of this woman, and many others that I have met, cherished, loved.

IMG_2101

I am thankful. And I’m doing my best to remember and praise God for ALL the reasons why.

6 thoughts on “Flower Pots & Thankful Spaces

  1. Sarah

    Love this post, your perspective and that adorable green flower pot! Can’t wait to see your space.

    Reply
  2. Christen

    Aw I love the little glimpses into your new place–so cute! Great thoughts, as well. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

