What’s the Heart and Soul?

on

It’s New Year’s weekend, and I’m off to celebrate with friends and usher in 2012. I’ve made my New Year’s list (trying to be realistic as to what I’ll actually do) and yet… you know what I keep thinking about as I think about next year?

In marketing, we talk a lot about the ONE THING that we want to communicate. From an organization standpoint, that’s pretty important. People lead busy lives. We have a limited time to get our point across in an effective way so we have to make what we say count. Be concise, be real, be unique and be passionate. It’s a tall order. The funny thing is, as I’ve dove deeper into social media and marketing on a professional level, I’ve thought a lot about it personally too. Why?

Photograph: nevver via Pinterest

Because the heart and soul of the matter is something we’re constantly searching for as humans. We’re longing for that ‘one thing’ that sums up everything that we are as individuals and brands us, so to speak. We want to be people that stand for something, that are known for something unique and personal and real. Don’t we? I don’t think I’m alone that desire to not be defined by what I do, but by WHO I AM.

I AM… a passionate adopted child of God who lives to share that love and equal opportunity of LIFE to others. 

If this is my ONE THING (or at least if I want that to be my one thing), then what I do, where I find myself, and who I become every day from the moment I wake up should fall under this umbrella. It doesn’t always, for I’m as prone to my selfishness as anyone. But this – this is a good place to start in 2012. Redefining, re-engaging, and responding to this one thought for life.

How ’bout you? What’s the ONE thing or statement that’ll lead you into 2012?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Vanessa says:

    I feel like I’ve been asking myself this a lot over the past year. Maybe not consciously, but I feel like the question just kind of looms. Probably because in the past year I’ve transitioned from a working young adult to a stay at home mom. It’s not been a negative experience, but it often leaves me wondering who I am, who I want to be. In your words “I AM… a passionate adopted child of God who lives to share that love and equal opportunity of LIFE to others.” I hope to remember that and embrace that through 2012 as I continue to take on my new role. Thanks for the inspiring post!

  2. Amber says:

    It’s great to hear from someone else’s perspective on this too 🙂 I think anytime we’re faced with changes in our lives it forces us to re-evaluate why we’re at where we’re at and how we’re going to live that. Hope being at home with Eden continues to be a great thing!

Leave a Reply

