Kony 2012

on

I’m assuming a lot of you have heard about this already, but in case you haven’t, check it out! KONY 2012 is a video that’s gone viral across the nation exposing Joseph Kony in his 26+ war for power which has led to children that are captured and forced to become child soldiers, killing their own parents, forced into sexual slavery, and on and on – and it’s gone unstopped for over 26 years. It’s also a powerful story about how social media and advocacy can really change things. If you haven’t watched it yet, I’d really encourage you to (it’s about 30 minutes long).

Watch this video first (short) to learn who Joseph Kony is:

Interestingly, although I’ve been hearing about it for a couple of weeks now, it was my thirteen year old cousin who texted me and told me I needed to watch it ’cause it’s something you’re interested in.’ That’s pretty exciting – seeing a young girl reaching out to an adult, or a kid telling his parent, or friends sharing with friends who in turn watch the video and get excited about it, and pretty soon… you have a nation networked and talking and getting passionate about… child soldiers. There’s power in social media. It can effect change – good change, if we let it.

Here’s the full length (30 min) video. This is the main video, well worth the full watch:

I want to share this because I believe it’s important. I believe it’s possible to make a big enough noise that change happens, and this man is stopped. Check out more steps on the website here: http://www.kony2012.com/

One Comment Add yours

  1. Very excellent blog post. Document only stumbled upon your current weblog and additionally needed expressing which i need very enjoyed studying your own site articles. Anyways I’ll come to be following for the blog and additionally I hope you will write once again in the near future.

Leave a Reply

