5 Books Worth Reading

These are five fairly recent reads that I’ve been diving into, and all of them I’d highly recommend. Check ’em out if you’re looking for a good, eye-opening read:

1. Everyday Justice: The Global Impact of our Daily Choices

by Julie Clawson – I’m actually just starting this one, but as someone very interested in the Fair trade, ethical movements, I’m loving it already. If you’re looking for practical, real steps you can take to live more justly (righteously) as Jesus commanded us to, then I’d recommend Everyday Justice!

2. One Thousand Gifts

by Ann Voskamp – Can you write 1,000 things you’re thankful for? Ann explores life in quiet, small moments – and how her life changes as she begins looking for the GOOD that God provides in every moment.

3. Behind the Beautiful Forevers

by Katherine Boo – This Pulitzer winner dives into the slums of Mumbai in this stirring non-fiction. Her accounts of three years of intense study and interviews give a unique perspective into the lives of some of the locals. It’s insightful, entertaining, and canny in all descriptions, and was certainly an eye-opener for me into Indian life – and slum life in general.

4. The Dressmaker of Khair Khana

by Gayle Tzemach Lemmon – As one review stated: “The Dressmaker gives voice to many of our world’s unsung heroines. Against all odds, these young women created hope and community, and they never gave up. This book is guaranteed to move you – and to show you a side of Afghanistan few ever see.” I think that sums it up pretty well… I’d definitely recommend it for an insightful, delightful read.

5. When Helping Hurts

by Steve Corbett & Brian Fikkert – This is one that I’ve read and blogged about before but am currently going through with a skype bible study group in Japan. It’s been really neat to get different perspectives on this one as we’re in different environments. I’d highly recommend this BEFORE traveling overseas, although I’m still learning loads every time I pick it up. It’s also a great one to go through with a group – preferrably people working with other culture groups.

So there you have it. Five books you shouldn’t do without reading… What would you list as the TOP 5 you’ve read lately?

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Cassie says:

    These all sound like amazing reads!! Thank you so much for the recommendations.

  2. DanielleMcN says:

    When Helping hurts altered completely how I think. You should also check out ‘Kisses from Katie’ Such a great book. Thanks for the other recommendations I will check them all out soon!

    1. Amber says:

      Totally agree Danielle! I’ve read “Kisses From Katie” and have already passed it off for a friend. I loved it!

  3. Sarah F. says:

    ah! I didn’t realize this blog existed until today! Adding you to my blog roll so I can follow along. Love ya!

    -Sarah

    1. Amber says:

      🙂 Sounds good. I love catching up on your blog too!

Leave a Reply

