Haiti…

on

It’s hard to wrap up experiences in another culture in a few paragraphs. It’s hard to wrap up the friendships, challenges, discoveries and hope billowing around my heart when someone asks me about my travels to Haiti.

How do I really tell you what it’s like to know that Augusta would likely have been dead of AIDS by now if she wasn’t brought into a family and given the love, care and anti-retroviral meds she so desperately needs?

How do I put into words the friendships, formed over a common love for God’s children in the staff I get to to work with?

What describes the moving experiences or the way my heart’s changed over the years? How do I put into words the lifestyle that develops over time?

Sometimes words aren’t adequate to shower experiences that change the core of you. I can only thank God for the chances, again and again, to be a part of these people’s lives, and watch these former orphans blossom in families. I can thank God, and live differently as I find wholeness in the center of God’s world.

Leave a Reply

