Ideals and Humbleness

“When we’re infused with either enthusiasm or awe or fondess… it changes what we see. It changes what we remember.” – Rob Legato

Check out Rob’s cool talk here (TED TALKS).

Two things I’m taking from this video:

1. We naturally create ideals for life’s moments.  In a very natural way of self-preservation, we subconsciously seem to forget moments that might be unpleasant, unsafe or unsure. What I find really interesting here, is that our natural human tendency is to play it safe, remember it well, and block out what doesn’t make us comfortable.

2. This guy has a really cool job. He gets to create moments, incredible pieces and scenes of art, and dive into the psychological reasoning of the human memory and power of observation. That, in and of itself is pretty cool.

(picture from Pinterest, source unknown)

When I think about this in light of life, I realize pretty quickly how my natural brain yearns to self-preserve. I want to forget – to paint over the moments that I’ve blundered. I’d rather remember moments as rational, understandable – I guess generally, justifiable.

And yet again and again, I’m hit with a Father who calls out my cover-ups, strips me of my self-preservation pride, and says “humble yourself before the Lord God Almighty.” If left there, I’m pretty sure there’d be few people who want to call themselves Christians. But that’s far from the end of the story. See, right then, when I’m humbled – exposed – God says “and NOW I can work through you.” And in the vulnerable moment of self-realization, God molds me.

Oximoron? Not at all. For Christ explained this in Mark 10:42-43 when he said, “You know that those who are considered rulers over the Gentiles lord it over them and their great ones exercise authority over them. Yet it shall not be so among you; but whoever desires to become great among you shall be your servant.”

Only servants can lead His kingdom.

Those who are exposed, remembering moments accurately, and letting God’s grace fill in the gaps of our memory. Sometimes, I guess it takes guys like Rob Legato to bring those reminders of our nature.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. nonoymanga says:

    Good read, superb composition!!! Cheers Nonoy Manga

Leave a Reply

