Showing Up: Half the Sky

on

Little girls trafficked for sex slavery. Female genital mutilation (FGM) or female circumcision done to girls as young as six. Domestic slavery for girls who are treated far from human. No education, which means no future. Maternal mortality rates skyrocketing where it could have been prevented, and fistulas when they deliver. Extreme poverty leading mothers to desperate measures to provide for their families.

There’s a movement is arising against these women’s oppressions. A movement that isn’t just people shouting and making noise, but acting differently, moving and doing things that ARE changing these horrible things.

When Half the Sky first came out, I jumped on it, read it quickly, and felt nearly traumatized by the stories of painful, horrific scenarios. Over time, I’ve seen some of these things in person. I’ve read more about others. And through incredible people standing up around the world, situations like this don’t have to remain like this.

Read more of my thoughts on Half the Sky over on LSM’s blog here. The documentary ran on PBS (and will be released Oct 20). I’d highly recommend both the book and documentary. It’s hard. It opens your eyes. But it’s needed.

I love the response from Gary Haugen, IJM President and CEO: “When our grandchildren ask us where we were when the voiceless and the vulnerable of our era needed leaders of compassion and purpose, I hope we can say that we showed up, and that we showed up on time.” 

I want to be a voice among a generation that stood up in time against horrific injustices. I want to be follower of Christ who says enough is enough – that Satan can’t win. I want to live like Jesus lived, giving of myself and shining hope into the hearts of the downtrodden, the brokenhearted. I want to live like that, one step at a time.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Sarah F. says:

    Amen, Sister!

Leave a Reply

