I’m a Little Weirded Out…

Have you ever started randomly receiving mail you DID NOT sign up for?

It feels like this has been a continuing story for me over the last few years with one random (and slightly disconcerning thing) or another. It started when I was probably ninteen and a wedding dress showed up at my parents house addressed to me. Not ordered by me. Ironically, it was my size, and quite pretty.

Weird.

Really weird.

I promptly sent that one back, assuming some girl was freaking out as her day approaches and she still doesn’t have a dress. (I’m a little sensitive to that because I grew up up hearing my mom’s horror story of not receiving her dress til the DAY OF her wedding! It. is. stressful. folks.)

Then it moved to magazines.

Two years ago, again to my parent’s house, with “Working Mother” (I’m single, and most certainly not a mom.) Weird. Funny. Periodically, I’d peruse them for the pure irony and laugh of it. Juggling schedules between family and work, how to spend quality time with kids…

Then it morphed to the office, where “Essence” (a magazine for trendy African-American women) came regularly in my name (which brought me no small grief at the office, let me tell you.) But it has all sorts of helpful tips on… nappy hair, being a sexy and successful black woman, etc etc…

Most recently, “American Baby” showed up at my home address… you guessed it… addressed to me. And while the cover posed this precious little baby, I’m honestly not terribly interested in breast feeding at this point in life. Honest.

All of this begs the question…Β Am I the only one who gets weird, non-applicable stuff in the mail you didn’t order?

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Emily says:

    This is hilarious…. How strange πŸ™‚

  2. Sarah F. says:

    LOVE this post πŸ™‚ hehe

  3. Vanessa says:

    Lol…I do get an occasional “Why am I getting this?” magazine subscription, but what takes the cake for me was when I received a box addressed to me from American Eagle with a bikini swimsuit, some bras, and other things. And of course they were all exactly my size. Weird. I thought maybe someone was surprising me…but then I realized anyone who knows my bra size also would know that I don’t wear bikinis. πŸ˜‰

    1. Amber says:

      So funny πŸ™‚

  4. Marilyn says:

    I would be a little concerned that you are perhaps being stalked–not a good thing in today’s society. If it continues I would definitely attempt to follow through by asking publisher/merchant who is sending these. This person obviously knows your parents address, your work address, and your home address.

    I have two grown daughters and if this happened to them I would be very concerned that it might escalate.

    1. Amber says:

      I haven’t been too worried about it since everything is very harmless, but thanks for the concern Marilyn. I’m guessing it has more to do with my name getting out some way or another into mass lists that are distributed to mailers. But it’s always good to be cautious!

Leave a Reply

