Faith: An Object Lesson

on

I was reading a novel came across a conversation that was one of the most eloquent and honest that I’ve seen written in a novel in a long time…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“You can’t base faith on fact or figures or past experiences. You can’t base it on training or understanding. It comes out of acceptance. It boils down to trusting God.” 

“I’ve never had to trust like this before, Frank. I don’t know if I can.” 

Frank looked at him for a moment, silent. Then he said, “When I was a kid, I loved to sail. I went out every chance I got. When I was twelve, I sailed out of sight of land for the first time. 

“When I first headed out to sea, I wasn’t even thinking about leaving land behind. Mainly it was a thrill because I wasn’t supposed to be out so far. My dad would have chopped my sailboat up for kindling if he’d known. But I was excited. I couldn’t wait to get out there. After all, I had my compass, and it wasn’t like I was going to miss the coast when I turned back. 

“But after a while, when I turned around and couldn’t see land anymore things suddenly felt different. I wasn’t excited anymore; I was scared. I got stuck for a time. Couldn’t catch the wind right. Instead of sailing back toward land, I kept getting pulled farther and farther out to see.”

Almost in spite of himself, Will was interested. “So what did you do?” he asked.

“I just kept trying to get back. I couldn’t tell if I was getting anywhere, because I didn’t have any landmarks to guide me. But because I had a compass, I knew I was going in the right direction. And , in time, I saw land again.

“That’s what this part of your life is about, Will. Getting through it. Planning and doing what you can, but relying on faith to get you through the hard times. Believing. Let God be your compass. Your life is out there. Happiness is out there. You’ve just got to let him direct you to those things. God will give you what you need. He always does. Most people just don’t realize that.”

I don’t know about you, but whether that time of not being able to see the shoreline is now or if it’ll come in the next year, that’s a good picture to keep in mind.

Keep strong. Keep moving. And let the Bible be a compass that guides your steps.

stepbystep

Leave a Reply

