Homeless

on

I’ve had some new experiences lately. Most noteworthy includes the ratty costume I’m currently wearing with makeup smeared across my face in an attempt to look “homeless.” I know, right?

use2

Tonight, we’re putting on an interactive presentation to teach our church’s youth group about the homeless in our community. (This is being written pre-event, so I’m assuming this will be effective.) Taking on this ‘identity’ has generated some research, including a 2 hour meeting at our local Rescue mission, prayer, internet searches, and some books to read through. Why? Because prior to this opportunity, I didn’t really know much about the homeless, their needs, or really even how to respond.

As a proper American woman, I was raised to be cautious of anyone who appeared homeless. Because it wasn’t safe. Because I could be raped, or taken advantage of, and I certainly didn’t want to enable anyone… right? But is there a right way to respond that can really help?

images

I’m in the process of trying to learning that. I’m talking with people who are reaching out to them… I’m gathering others who want to get involved. And I’m praying to have eyes like Jesus when I look around me.

What does your community or church do for the homeless in your community? I’d love to hear some of your creative ideas or experiences.

stepbystep

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Sarah F. says:

    Amber, this is something that’s been on my heart as well. please keep sharing what you’ve learned

    1. Amber says:

      I’ve got a list I’ll email you with the area organizations in the surrounding counties. Just good to pray over if nothing else… I’d love to sit down and talk about it sometime.

  2. Jama says:

    Hello Amber,
    I stumbled upon your blog and saw this posting, and wanted to reply to your question.
    My son and daughter in law work very closely with homeless youth in Boston, specifically those who hang around in Cambridge, in an area known as ‘the pit’. Tim and Alice basically serve as street pastors in this way, sitting on sidewalks a lot, visiting prisons, hospitals, helping people get clean and sober and inside, loving them as Jesus loves them, leading Bible studies and discussions about the Lord, feeding people, inviting some into their home. They do this with an organization called InnerChange. You might want to check out their website as you reflect on the needs of the homeless.

    1. Amber says:

      Thanks Jama. It’s great to see what others are doing. Sounds like a great work in Boston!

Leave a Reply

