The Great Smoky Mountains

on

I just spent a week in the Great Smoky Mountains with my family. In all the times I’ve been there, the vistas never cease to inspire me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Sipping coffee overlooking those blue mountains, I thought of this: “Truly, I say to you, whoever says to this mountain, ‘Be taken up and thrown into the sea,’ and does not doubt in his heart, but believes that what he says will come to pass, it will be done for him. Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.” – Mark 11:23-24

I pondered these verses in the presence of mountains so majestic and impressive – and marveled anew at the power the Spirit living within me must hold. Not even mountains can withstand it.

Certainly, these verses don’t mean just asking for whatever we want because we have the power to do so. (This is not a blog promoting a prosperity gospel. In fact, quite the opposite.) Instead, I’d echo what Bob Goff tweeted recently, “Quit waiting for God to give you a plan when you know His intent. Love God, love people, do stuff.” (source Relevant Magazine article) In other words, quit asking for stuff that doesn’t line up with His intent. Instead, let’s be about His business and let our desires flow from that – let the impressiveness of the mountains render our hearts to greater things – things beyond ourselves.

I re-enter my everyday world in a bit of awe – wondering that God would enable that kind of power in mere humans. It must be for a grand reason!

stepbystep

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Your photos are MAJESTIC! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Carl says:

    I love the colours in these! Awesome shots!

Leave a Reply

