In the Air

1 experimental hand-built plane, 2 countries, 3 states, 4 flights and 6 airports and I’ll be home. I heard it said once that for some of us working cross-culturally, the only time we really feel at home is in the air. I know what they were getting at.

Jan's experimental plane

Home certainly has taken on a different feel in the last years. It’s no longer a place, at least not nearly as much so, as a feeling. It’s people that I care about, it’s a sense of God’s presence in places. Rich Mullins wrote about that feeling in “What Susan Said”, a song I’ve long taken comfort in during these transition moments.

And we both feel lost
But I remember what Susan said
How love is found in the things we’ve given up
More than in the things that we have kept
And ain’t it funny what people say
And ain’t it funny what people write
And ain’t it funny how it hits you so hard
In the middle of the night
And if your home is just another place where you’re a stranger
And far away is just somewhere you’ve never been
I hope that you’ll remember I was your friend

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love the sights and smells and touch in Haiti. I love the people, my ‘family’ there, the depth of emotion and conversations and place I have there. But I know there’s a life here too. And because God’s opened some incredible doors, I get to live both and help people understand both – and the God that ties these two very different worlds together. I have to remind myself of that sometimes… of my place in it today. But it’s a beautiful gift, this life, and I want to remember that when I’m in the air, transitioning worlds yet again.

Kerline and I

 

Truth is, home is just another place where I’m a stranger, and far away is just some place I’ve never been. But this I know, there is a God who is our friend and he heals, holds and brings hope to all.

stepbystep

Leave a Reply

