Giving Thanks

Today has been one of those unexpectedly blessed days. I know… it should be blessed. It’s Thanksgiving, after all. But this one was special.

my family (not the real Christmas Picture)(This one didn’t make THE Christmas card, but I think it’s hilarious. Family’s one of those incredible blessings I can’t say enough good about. I love this crazy bunch!) 

This morning, I texted several close friends, some missionaries and some people that I work with just to share how grateful I am for each of them. It wasn’t meant for a response, it was just a moment of reflection on the things most important in my life – people. But what happened was so touching. Literally all day through big meals and lots of family time, I’ve been receiving messages back in thanks and thankfulness too… And with each connection, a smile and burst of happiness and joy has overcome me. I am blessed. 

Certainly, in material blessings. But much MUCH more so in relationships. What a beautiful day to sit quietly surrounded by family and feeling so connected to those I love most even if they weren’t directly with me. I think THIS is what Thanksgiving is supposed to be.

I was thinking of this when I read an article this evening that Rich Mullins wrote back in 1996. It all seemed to come together when he said, “… I am a Christian because I have seen the love of God lived out in the lives of people who know Him. The Word has become flesh and I have encountered God in the people who have manifested His Presence; a Presence that is more than convincing – it is a Presence that is compelling. I am a Christian, not because someone explained the nuts and bolts of Christianity to me, but because there were people who were willing to be nuts and bolts, who through their explanation of it, held it together so that I could experience it and be compelled by it to obey. “If I be lifted up,” Jesus said, “I will draw all men unto me.” 

Today, I am counting blessings of so many people who point me to Jesus, live it out every day, and inspire me to be better.

stepbystep

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Sarah F. says:

    love the post, love the picture 🙂

    1. Amber says:

      Thanks Sarah 🙂

  2. Janel says:

    I am blessed to call you “friend”!!! And I completely forgot to text back:) But know as soon as I read the text I was again reminded how incredibly thankful I am to have known you since we were little girls!

    1. Amber says:

      Same back at ya, Janel! 🙂

Leave a Reply

