Snowed In

on

This has been a heck of a cold, blustery streak in the Mid-west. But these are the best of memories, despite being cooped up.

But it’s more than memories, good as those are. It’s being forced to stop a bit and take time to reflect on life. I have so enjoyed that.

frosted trees in snowstorm

Rich Mullins writes of it too as he pauses from work:

“Sometimes in the heat of the toil of my labor I give in to fits of selfish rage – frustration more over my lack of skill than over my apartment’s progress. But late at night when I look over the piles of dust and dry wall and knee-deep debris that remain during this reconstructive effort, I am strangely moved by the place and I proclaim the Gospel to it softly. I say, ‘I know how it hurts to be torn up. I am often choked on the litter left by my own remodeling. I know what it’s like to settle (by the grave act of strong will) into the despair of believing that you are wasted space. I have felt the blows of heavy hammers that nailed me to a sense of uselessness. I have been shaped by some pretty careless workers who came to the task of making me and lacked any craftsmanship or artistry. I know the pain of wanting to be changed and yet being distrustful of changes, of wanting ot be worked on, but being suspicious of the intentions of the Worker. But here is some good news: He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus. However messy it may be now, however confusing and scary it appears, however endless the task may seem, we will some day be glorious, beautiful, alive! There is much tearing out to do – a lot to give up. No thin coat of paint, no shallow, petty piety will do. It’s not good enough to cover up imperfection, it must be corrected. Art, beauty, function – these things take time. They may take ‘til the day of Christ Jesus.

But we are not wasted space, we are temples of a Being greater than ourselves, temples being built to be inhabited and brought to life. Though we many not understand the process, our Rebuilder does. We are His Workmanship and the place where He lives… I’m being made by a Master Carpenter. I’m learning a little about building too!”  – Rich Mullins

frosted tree

I’m stepping back to enjoy this time where we can’t go places. It’s brief, uncommon and full of rich memories if I’m open to them.

stepbystep

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Janel says:

    Love the snowman and your tree pics and actually I really just love this whole post! Especially your last phrase “if I’m open to them.” This is so true, thanks for the reminder.

    1. Amber says:

      Thanks Janel 🙂 how are you fairing with the kiddos in this weather? Saw your fireplace and looks like you were at least nice and cozy!

  2. Sarah says:

    Did you and your dad make a snowman together?! I love that!!

  3. Amber says:

    We did 🙂 it was pretty fun!

Leave a Reply

