A Homemade Christmas

We do homemade Christmases, and the memories and love that have poured into those gifts over the years is heart-warming.

Steffen2014

I love that Christmas becomes more intentional through the hands-on approach to giving. I love that Christmas is more than buying a gift at the store. And I love the special memories gathered around my parent’s table for a decadent Christmas meal. These are moments I will always treasure.

This year, I tried some new gift ideas, including a lot of food options.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here’s a few of the hits:

Spiced Nuts and Sugared Bacon: A winner for the guys. And let me just say up front. Bacon is not my forte. I stink at bacon (and then my whole house stinks with the grease). This was a labor of love. But I think they liked it, even if they are still talking about how spicy it was. Recipe here.

Homemade Coffee Syrups: These are really easy, and the best thing is, you can kind of make it up as you go. The base is 1 cup of water, 1 cup of sugar, boiled. Then add whatever kinds of flavoring you’d like. I did peppermint (4 candy canes and some peppermint extract) and Maple-Vanilla-Cinnamon (1/4 c maple syrup (boil with the water and sugar), then cinnamon to taste and vanilla.) There’s tons of great combinations out there… Check out some ideas here.

Gourmet Coffee Set

Hand-designed Mugs: I’ve loved this. Buy a cheap plain coffee mug, take a sharpie to it and have fun! Let it rest 24 hrs, then bake at 425* for 30 minutes. Turn the oven off and let it cool there. Then take out and wallah! You’ve got a homemade gift that’s personalized! I combined this with the homemade syrups, some dipped spoons, and hot chocolate mix for a fun homemade package. Details here.

Mason Jar Ideas: We took Hot Chocolate Jars to our neighbors (finally meeting them) and starting some great conversations. These are cute, and just a fun way to share with those who live right around you!

What other great homemade gift ideas do you have? I’d love to hear from you.

stepbystep

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I want to eat that chocolate cake with peppermint ice cream!!

  2. Amber says:

    It was certainly good Sarah!

Leave a Reply

