Hope is like a path…

“Hope is like a path in the countryside. Originally, there is nothing – but as people walk this way again and again, a path appears.” —Lu Xun, Chinese essayist, 1921

Today, I leave for Africa. Over the next couple of weeks, I will walk with some beautiful women and hear their stories – stories of extreme poverty, sexual exploitation and desperation. I will also see the incredible value of hope and redemption. And we’ll walk the path together.

Such experiences are both beautiful and painful. It’s a tension I live in, knowing that it produces the richest rewards. And over the next few weeks, I’d like to share some of that with you.

Read more about what I’m doing in Ethiopia with LSM here.

LSM Ethiopian Purse

Buy beautiful handmade Ethiopian purses and help sustain dignified jobs for women here.

And if you’re not familiar with some of the realities that we work with, I’d highly recommend checking out both Half the Sky (book and documentary) and it’s sequel A Path Appears (you can view the first segment now online for free at PBS.)

book-banner-v51

Check out more books and documentaries suggested on LSM’s site and journey with me over the next several days as I explore some of these topics, share stories and talk about Ethiopia.

stepbystep

 

Leave a Reply

