An Invitation for Life

“I get the invitation every morning when I wake up to actually live a life of complete engagement, a life of whimsy, a life where love does. It’s ushered in by the sunrise, the sound of a bird, or the smell of coffee drifting lazily from the kitchen. It’s the invitation to actually live, to fully participate in this amazing life for one more day.” – Bob Goff, Love Does

everyday life

Real character shines through when you get past the flashy extraordinary days and step into the ORDINARY of life. There are days that feel extraordinarily fulfilling to me. There are days when I catch a bigger picture – and find myself swept away in this grand picture God is letting me see.

But there are far more days where I have to make a choice to live the day well. I don’t want to miss the power of those simple, ordinary days.

Goff said it well again when he writes, “I’ve never read in Genesis that God created “typical” and called it good. Instead, I think men who were bored made up typical and called it, if not good, at least acceptable. People who follow Jesus, though, are no longer typical – God is constantly inviting them into a life that moves away from typical. Even if they have normal jobs, live in normal houses, and drive normal cars, they’re just not the same anymore.” 

Living on purpose with passion is more often a choice than something we fall into.

Living with joy is the product of a life lived well, one lived in action, one lived in faith.

Living like this is something I want to do.

stepbystep

Leave a Reply

