Anything

“We delight in the beauty of the butterfly, but rarely admit the changes it has gone through to achieve that beauty.” – Maya Angelou

I started a new bible study this winter with some women from my church. We’re going through a devotional book from Jennie Allen that asks one big question: “What if we told God we would do anything?” (Check out the book here.)

What might that entail? Change – the kind that requires laying ourselves down for the glory of God – almost always requires a painful letting go of something within me. This whole dying to self thing is never easy. But without it, I might never see the beautiful transformation.

Frosted TreeOh, I’d rather it didn’t come with the pain of letting go of my will. I’d so much rather experience beauty just cropping up in my life, full of joy and grace. But I know better. The sinful, willful nature in myself is so subtle, so pervasive, that it must be cast off if I am really going to ask this question sincerely. And I also know that the fruit of that transformation is so much richer when it is formed with a refreshing breath from heaven. When He breathes a freshness through my heart and answers with a calling… Purpose. 

The beautiful transformation that awaits on the other side is well worth the struggle. I don’t know what will come from this prayer in my life, but I have seen this prayer uttered by saints before me. And that gives me hope that he might just have something He can do through me too…

God is in the business of creating beauty from weakness. But it starts with a humble prayer: “Lord, I will do anything. What do you want me to do?”

Step by step,

Amber - signature

Leave a Reply

