Getting Quiet

on

“I will praise you O Lord, with all my heart. I will tell of your wonders.” – Psalm 9.1

Do you find it hard to get alone and quiet your spirit?

The times when I get there, I know I’m at my best. I’m a better listener, more creative, more in tune with the Spirit… and yet it’s hard to do.

Screen Shot 2016-04-20 at 10.30.24 PM

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Welcome to the world little Fife!

I’ve been attempting it though – to quiet my thoughts, spend more time with God and enjoy the outdoors… These are not hard things, and yet they are so difficult to do in a world that can’t seem to stop talking.

It takes determination. It takes a real understanding of why we need it, what it costs us not to have it.

Screen Shot 2016-04-15 at 2.12.16 PM
Happy First Birthday Aves!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Screen Shot 2016-04-20 at 10.30.04 PM
Seven months later, our wedding album has arrived!
Screen Shot 2016-04-20 at 10.29.42 PM
Loving this warm Saturday together.

I just listened to a Ted Radio Hour on NPR that captures a different perspective on this. It’s a fun listen. And I find myself lingering a bit longer these days, praying, contemplating and listening along the way…

And I hope it sticks. Because I like who I am better like this, present and real. But it’s certainly a work in progress. I’d love to hear from you – what do you do to quiet your soul and find your grounding?

Step by Step,

Amber - signature

One Comment Add yours

  1. Amanda (Rowan) Adams says:

    I spend time with my 13 yr old daughter and 9 month old son and husband💜 BOTH kids have such different perspectives on the world / hard not to ignore/take into YOUR own perspective – they both view the world in different ways, and I want to see the world from THEIR perspectives 💜

Leave a Reply

