With Thanks

 

“Enter his gates with thanksgiving and his courts with praise; give thanks to him and praise his name. For the Lord is good and his love endures forever; his faithfulness continues through all generations.” – Psalm 100.4-5

 

A couple years ago, I was feeling discouraged. The weight of longing and searching had brought me to a spiritual wilderness. One of the most profound (and ultimately simple) things I did in that season was to BE THANKFUL.

I asked women who had spoken into my life over the years come to a “thankful party.” 

photo-1463569643904-4fbae71ed917

In many ways, that decision to give thanks was meant to convince myself that God was faithful in the midst of my storm. Somewhere in there, I knew that the best way to do that was to give back. My roommate (who would later become my sister-in-law) and I made little handmade gifts, sent out personalized invitations and made the loveliest crostini bar… and lit some candles in anticipation.

The women of all ages who filtered through my home that day gave me precious pause.

In the middle of my inner turmoil, I was reminded that these women had prayed me forward, encouraged my steps and were actively there for me. The Thankful Party didn’t fix the situation I was finding myself in. But it did remind me that God had placed many, many things to be thankful for right in front of me.

I don’t know where you find yourself this Thanksgiving, but if it’s in a tough spot, take a moment to share your thanks for others with your message of “hey thanks!” And perhaps with that refocusing and attitude of gratefulness, you’ll remember that you are in fact, not alone.

Step by Step,

Amber - signature

Leave a Reply

