The Island Reminds Me

“Drink your wine. Laugh from your gut. Burden your moments with thankfulness. Be as empty as you can be when your clock winds down. Spend your life. And if time is a river, may you leave a wake.” N.D. Wilson

fullsizeoutput_73ff

A friend’s husband just got diagnosed with cancer. Far too young, far too quickly. His battle for life is suddenly raw and desperate. And his young wife, my friend, is left with what I’m sure is a sea of emotions… life becomes precious quickly.

We spent time with my husband’s grandmother last week at her beautiful island condo. As we talked about her 88 years of life, those memories (both beautiful and painful) come bubbling to the surface. There’s an eerily similar reminder in realities from both a long-lived life and a short one.

Time is short. Time is precious. 

fullsizeoutput_739b

When life seems like it will be shorter, things become clearer. Relationships become more. Time becomes a rare and beautiful gift to be handled with care. 

I stop.

What will I remember from my daily life?

fullsizeoutput_7419

I want to remember these sunsets. I want to travel to great places and see this big world God gives us to enjoy. And in those moments, I want to be aware of the tide sifting the sand in powerful waves through my toes.

These are moments of grandeur. Times when the greatness of God is felt in the tide. In the sunset. In the quietness and awesome beauty of a simple ending of a day. 

img_8152

fullsizeoutput_73ca

I need reminders to stop and listen sometimes. It’s easier when you’re away from daily life. It’s easier on a beach with the glorious sunset before you to praise God for his majestic beauty. But can I do it at home, when the cloud cover is thick and the days want to blend together?

Can I find things there that cause me to pause and bask in His presence?

fullsizeoutput_7473

img_2119

Island life reminds me to stop. To listen. Because in the small moments… God’s beauty is right there. And time is too short not to notice.

Step by Step,

Amber - signature

Leave a Reply

